Eagles Receive Hardware at Athletic Awards Ceremony

Eagles Receive Hardware at Athletic Awards Ceremony

POULTNEY, Vt. – The Green Mountain College athletic department hosted its annual Athletic Awards Ceremony on Tuesday night to a full house which included various campus community members from the President and the Provost to the Faculty Athletic Representative and to athletic administrators, coaches and of course the student-athletes.

As he always does, College President, Paul Fonteyn, opened the evening with a speech welcoming everyone and also thanking the GMC student-athletes for their hard work, dedication and for their efforts in helping GMC Athletics turn the corner this past year.

Athletic Director Keith Bosley then addressed the student-athletes and echoed the President’s remarks thanking them for their contributions to the College's sports teams during the year.  He also noted that this year’s historic performances from several of the teams and athletes has helped put GMC on the map competitively and also in recruiting terms. 

The first sets of awards were dedicated to the student-athletes’ work in the classroom as Faculty Athletic Representative Rommy Fuller helped distribute the Athletic Director’s Honor Roll certificates and the scholar-athlete awards. The group of students receiving these awards in 2014-15 included: Nate Laymon (Men's Soccer/Men’s Lacrosse), Ethan Cooper (Men’s Soccer/Men’s Track), Matthias Baudinet (Men’s Soccer), Martha Howe (Women's Soccer), Alex Stephanson (Men's Cross Country), Peyton Jones and Katie Best (Women's Cross Country), Luz Guel and Megan Roy (Women's Volleyball), George Gera (Men's Basketball), Amber Heath and Keelin Banks (Women's Basketball), Brett  Baldwin (Men's Lacrosse), Catie Brewster and Hannah Davis (Women's Lacrosse), Jack Hepburn and Connor Braden (Men's Tennis), Chris Weslosky (Men’s Track), Casiana Arroyo (Women’s Track) and Kathleen Chappelear, Swe Zaw Oo and Alex Reedy (Women’s Tennis).  

The ceremony continued with the Individual Sport Eagle Award which was given to individuals who best exemplify a team player through their performance, leadership, and involvement. The winners of this award were: Ryan Crozier (Men's Soccer), Kim Simonetti (Women's Soccer), Corey Fletcher (Men's Cross Country),  Jones (Women's Cross Country), Madison Wage (Women's Volleyball), Billy Brink (Men's Basketball),  Allison Wadsworth (Women's Basketball), Dan Steele (Men's Lacrosse), Rebecca Girouard (Women's Lacrosse), Braden (Men's Tennis), Chappelear (Women's Tenns) and Jesse Thompson (Men's Track). 

The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) handed out its hardware for the Senior Student-Athlete Awards to Jones and Baudinet.

This year Howe and Laymon were awarded the Student-Athlete Service Award.  The award is given annually to a senior or junior woman and man who have demonstrated superior citizenship and ethical conduct on and off the playing fields of Green Mountain College.  

The Director’s Award was awarded to the College’s group of workers employed by DTZ. The distinction was thoroughly deserved for the group’s commitment to the grounds and facilities upon which the athletic department and its student-athletes rely to host its home athletic contests.

Four-Year Athlete Awards were also given to a select group of student-athletes who had dedicated themselves to a single sport program for their entire four-year career at GMC.  The four-year student-athletes and their sports are as follows: Men’s Soccer – Matt Kukola; Women’s Volleyball –Wage; Men’s Basketball – Brink.  

The presentation of awards was capped off with the Male and Female James M. Pollock “Eagle” Awards.  Brink was named this year’s male recipient for his commitment and dedication to the basketball program. Wage earned the distinction as this year’s female recipient thanks to her placement among some of the best in GMC history in volleyball. 


2014-15   l   2013-14   l   2012-13   l   2011-12   l   2010-11   l   2009-10   l   2008-09  l   2007-08   l   2006-07   l   2005-06   l   2004-05