2012-13 Athletic Awards Banquet

2012-13 Athletic Awards Banquet

POULTNEY, Vt. – Green Mountain College hosted its annual athletic awards ceremony on Wednesday, May 1st, bringing the 2012-2013 athletic year to a close.   

Vice-President of Student Life, Joe Petrick, opened the evening with a speech in remembrance of the people affected by the recent events in Boston and spoke of the will to emerge from such dire circumstances and continue fighting.

First-year Athletic Director Keith Bosley then addressed the student-athletes and thanked them for their hard work and dedication to the College's sports teams during the year.  He also gave an inspirational talk about cultivating an unconquerable spirit, akin to the Invictuspoem written by William Ernest Henley.

The first individual awards given out were to the scholar-athletes who had earned the highest GPA on their respective teams (minimum of 3.0 GPA).  The 2012-13 scholar-athletes included: Chris Bergen (Men’s Cross Country), Whitney Rose (Women’s Cross Country),  Johanna Douglas (Women’s Soccer and Lacrosse), Tyler Lawson (Men’s Soccer), Bryanna Astor (Golf), Jennifer Seredejko (Volleyball), Chelsea Paul (Women’s Basketball and Softball), Luke Carey (Men’s Lacrosse), and Duong Vo (Tennis).

New to the awards ceremony this year was the Individual Sport Eagle Award given to individuals who best exemplify a team player through their performance, leadership, and involvement. Winners of this award were: Dakota VanTine (Women’s Cross Country),Forrest Teutsch (Men’s Cross Country), Chris Gaskin (Men’s Soccer), Kim Blank (Women’s Soccer), Bryanna Astor (Golf), Jennifer Seredejko (Volleyball), Chelsea Paul (Women’s Basketball), Alex Homkey (Men’s Basketball), Oliver Osnoss (Men’s Lacrosse), Johanna Douglas (Women’s Lacrosse), Casey McGill (Softball), and Connor Braden (Tennis).

The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) distributed its Senior Student-Athlete Awards to Chelsea Paul and Andrew O’Neill.

This year Casey McGill and Chris Donovan were awarded the Student-Athlete Service Award.  The award is given annually to a senior or junior woman and man who have demonstrated superior citizenship and ethical conduct on and off the playing fields of Green Mountain College. 

Bosley distributed his first Director’s Award to J. Michael Stone, an employee at GMC, for his unwavering support of the student-athletes and the work he does in the Waldron Athletic Center.

Four-Year Athlete Awards were also given to a select group of student-athletes who had dedicated themselves to a single sport program for their entire four-year career at GMC.  The four-year student-athletes and their sports are as follows:

Men’s Cross Country - Andrew O’Neill, Chris Donovan; Women’s Cross Country - Taylor Conley, Whitney Rose; Women’s Soccer - Casey McGill, Emma Lord, Kim Blank; Men’s Soccer- Nate Kishbaugh, Ryan Laymon, Oliver Osnoss, Chris Gaskin; Women’s Basketball - Kristin Belessis, Jacqueline Caster, Chelsea Paul; Softball - Casey McGill, Chelsea Paul, Kristin Belessis; Men’s Tennis - Nicole Cardish; Women’s Lacrosse - Bryanna Astor; Men’s Lacrosse- Oliver Osnoss, Toliver DiMasi. 

The evening was capped off with the presentation of the Male and Female James M. Pollock “Eagle” Awards.  This year’s male recipient went to Chris Gaskin for his four-year contributions to the soccer program while Chelsea Paul came away as the female recipient thanks to her placement amongst the best in GMC history in both basketball and softball.

The evening concluded with the ground breaking video, “Day in the Life of Johanna Douglas”.



2014-15   l   2013-14   l   2012-13   l   2011-12   l   2010-11   l   2009-10   l   2008-09  l   2007-08   l   2006-07   l   2005-06   l   2004-05